Welcome to Land of Cashews - Quilon


CollartrateThe history of the district as an administrative unit can be traced back to  1835, when the Travancore state consisted of two revenue divisions with head quarters at Kollam and Kottayam.

At the time of integration of Travancore and Cochin in 1949, Kollam was one of the three revenue divisions in the state. These three revenue divisions were converted in to district. Shencottah taluk was merged with Madras state consequent on the implementation of the State Reorganisation act of 1956.

When Alappuzha district was formed in 1957, Cherthala, Jilla PanchayathAmbalapuzha, Mavelikara, Karthikapalli, Chengannur and Thiruvalla taluks of Kollam district were united to form the new district. When Pathanamthitta district was formed on 1st July 1983, the entire Pathanamthitta taluk and nine villages of KunnathurKunnathur taluk were also removed. Now the district has a single revenue division with headquarters at Kollam. Pathanpuram, Kunnathur, Kottarakkara, Karunagappally and Kollam are the five taluks in the district. The district is divided into 13 development blocks. Kollam, Paravoor and Punalur are the three municipal towns.

Name of Block    Panchayaths included in the Block
Anchal    1. Alayamon
2. Archal
3. Aryankavu
4. Edamulakkal
5. Karavalloor
6. Kulathuppuzha
7. Thenmala
8. Yeroor
Anchalummood   1. Kilikolloor
2. Sasthikulangara
3. Thrikkadavoor
4. Thrikkaruva
Chadayamangalam 1. Chadayamangalam
2. Chithra
3. Elamad

4. Ittiva
5. Kadllakkal
6. Nilamel
7. Velimalloor

Chavara 1. Chavara  
2. Neendakara 
3. Panmana


Anchal falls mainly in the highland region of pathanapuram taluk and covers an area of 950.77 sq.kms. It comprises of eight panchayats Kulathuppuzha, Eroor, Alayamon, Anchal, Edamulakkal, Karavaloor, Thenmala and Arryankavu. The tribal settlements are mainly in rubber and oil palm platations . The Thenmala and Kulathuppuzha ranges are resplendent in scenic beauty.

Located on the northern side of Kollam Taluk and Kollam Muncipal Town, it covers an area of 53.61 sq. kms. .Coir is one of the important industrial activities in the block, especially in Thikkadavur and Thrikkaruva panchayaths . The other two panchayaths Kilikolloor and Sakthikkulangara are noted for Cashew/Wood industries and fishing respectively. Population - 0.16 lakh.

It is situated on the south estern side of Kottarakkara taluk. This is one amoung the large bloks in the district with an area of 249..03 sq. kms . Paddy cocunut , rubber, tapiyoca,pepper,cashew,banana, arecanut etc. are the major crops under cultivation in the block. Two industrial estate and five industrial co-operative institutions are functioning here. Population - 0.20 lakh. Panchayats-Chithra, Kadakkal, Chadayamangalam, Ittiva, Velinalloor, Elamadu and Nilamel.

Chavara is predominantly coastal block, on the southern part of Karunagappally taluk. The soil of the block is sandy except in certain parts of the Thevalakkara and Thekkumbhagom where laterite and clay soil  is found . There are four major industrial establishments here viz, Indian Rare Earths  The Kerala Premo pipe factory , Kerala minerals  and metals Ltd. and The titanium Complex. Two mini Industrial estates are also their in the block. Being a coastal block, large number of people are engaged in fishing and fish processing .Coir is another major industrial activity . Area - 74.90 sq. kms. Panchayats - Chavara, Panmana, Thevalakkara, Neendakara and Thekkumbhagam. Population -0.14 lakh.

Chettumala in the north eastern side of Kollam taluk. The block consist of five panchayaths  viz., Munroe Thuruthu, East Kallada Perayam, Kundara and Perinad covering area of 77.01 sq. kms. The soil structure is laterite and alluvial and cocunut , paddy, cashew, Pepper, tapioca and banana are the main crops cultivated in this block . A sizeable population of the block are fisherman. Population - 1.18 lakh.

Ithikkara is situated on the south east part of the Kollam Taluk, covering an area of 134.80 sq. kms. Agriculture is the main occupation of the people . Majority of the cultivators are small and marginal farmers coir unit, manufacturing of company bricks and tiles , Khadi, Spinning and Weaving etc.are major industrial activities . Population 1.85 lakh. Panchayats - Chathannoor, Kalluvathukkal, Nedumpana, Paravur , Poothakkulam and Adichanallur.

Karunagappally block consist of 4 panchayaths viz., Allappad, Karunagappally, Thodiyoor and Minagappaly, covering an area of 66.34 sq. kms. The block is industrially forward because of its  advantages location on National Highway near to Sea. It is connected by rail also . Cocunut,Paddy, tapioca, banana etc. are main agricultural crops. Prominent small scale and cottage industries are based on bricks well ring making engineering and electronic items handicrafts etc. Population 1.45 lakh.

Kottarakkara lies in the western part of the kottarakkara taluk. Agriculture is the main occupation of the people. The major agriculture crops are paddy pepper, cocunut, arecanut, tapioca, cashew, rubber etc. Area -133.10 sq. kms. population - 1.54 lakh. Panchayats -Kottarakkara, Neduvathoor, Ezhukone, Kareepra, Pooyappally and Veliyam.

Mukhathala is one of the thikly populated bloks in the district. Agriculture is the main occupation of people . Major industrial activities are related to cashew, wood matches, oil, engineering, bricks etc. There are two industrial estates in the block , one at kannanallur and the other at Umayanallur Population-Mayyanad, Eravipuram, Vadakkevilla, Thrikkovilvattom and Kottamkara.

Ochira block consists of 4 panchayats viz., Ochira, Clappana, Kulasekharapuram and Thazhava. The soil condition of the block is sandy except in Pavumba village which is gravely . Agriculture is the main occupation of the people. Paddy arecanut, coconut, pepper, cashew etc. are the main crops. Kayamkulam lake laying on the western side of the block to a length of 15 kms. and the Arabian sea provide ample scope for the fishing activities Population-1.23 lakh. Area 6324 hectrares

Pathanampuram is situated on the eastern part of the district, it covers an area of 248.32 sq. kms. Live-stock activities like dairying, poultry, goat rearing etc. and industrial activities like brick making, bamboo weaving etc. are the main occupations. The block is rubber predominant. Population -1.57 lakh. Panchayats - Pathanampuram, Pattazhivadakkekkara, Piravanthoor, Thalavoor, Vilakudy and Pattazhy.

Sathamcotta is situated on the north east corner of the district. Soil is laterite. The major cultivated crops are paddy,Tapicoa, Banana, Cashew and pepper. Area 118.41sq .kms. .Population  -1.42 lakh. Panchyats - Kunnathoor, Westkallada, Shasthamcotta,Soornad south , Soornad North and Poruvazy

Vetikkavala comes uner Kottarakara taluk Ummannoor, Pavitheswaram, Kulakada, Mylom, Melila and Vettikkavala are the Panchyats. The bloco has the total area of 169.47 sq. kms. Population 1.77 lakh

History | Physiography | Religious | Tourism | Health | Exporters
Industry | Education | Photo Gallery | Guest Book

www.pathanamthitta.com  Powered By Worldviewer Dot Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.   www.kerala.com